An introduction
On bananas & Platanera Río Sixaola

The Garden of Eden once was located exactly here on the tropical Caribbean cost. It is green and fruitful, the sea as radiant blue as the sky and the sun shines particularly bright and friendly on this paradise garden. And the most beautiful fruit of the garden is yellow and softly bent like a smile: The paradise fig, the forbidden fruit of the biblical myth of paradise.

You don’t know this fruit?

Of course you do, probably you ate it as a baby for the first time. It’s the most beautiful berry of the world, the banana - Musa paradisiaca. Or, that’s what we call her, the Sixaola Banana.

Ten up to twenty fingers are one hand - The first records about bananas are over 2.600 years old and date back to India. Arabian traders brought it to Africa, they gave the fruit its name: “Banan” is the Arabian word for finger.

It's the most loved tropical fruit of the Germans, and number two in the favorite fruits ranking list behind the apple.

As a compact source of energy, the banana beats every competitor. Its natural fruit sugar is by far healthier than industrially produced dextrose. A high concentration of minerals like potassium, magnesium as well as phosphor and valuable ingredients like the vitamins A, B, C and E are indispensable for the heart, nerves, muscles and the protein metabolism. 

However, people tend to forget that bananas are cultivated in tropical and subtropical regions and often have to make considerable journeys to be enjoyed by people in other parts of the world – which also applies to our Sixaola Bananas:

It takes only about 10 to 12 weeks from the flowering to the final maturation of the fruit on the plant. After the crop the bundles, which weigh up to 30 kilo, are pulled to our packing station by cable winches where they are portioned, washed and packed into banana boxes by hand.

The natural maturing of our bananas is artificially interrupted in refrigerated containers, and they cross the Atlantic on freighters, at a constant temperature of 13.5 °C. After arrival at the port of destination our bananas are, still green, transported to maturing plants and from there distributed to supermarkets by wholesalers.

For over 25 years our team of Platanera Río Sixaola has been dedicated to sustainable agriculture and the cultivation of bananas in the tropics. With our new homepage we now give our bananas a face and want to present the work on our farm in Costa Rica to interested people from all over the world.

Welcome on our farm!



"Living, working and producing in accordance with nature and no longer against nature is our great learning process.“

Tenzin Gyatso, 14th Dalai Lama

About us

The people behind Platanera Rio Sixaola
Sustainability

Integrative and sustainable cultivation of bananas
Sixaola Bananas

Each kind of banana has its own character
News

Read some news about us and our products
Visits

Our banana farm is pleased about your visit
Downloads

Studies and further information about our farm

Click on the button to reload the data of GoogleMaps.
After the activation the data will be sended to the respective provider. You can find more information in the data protection. With the activation you declare your agreement.

Platanera Río Sixaola
Bribri, Talamanca adress
Costa Rica
+506 2751 0002 telephone
+506 2751 0278 fax

Eine Einführung
Über Bananen & Platanera Río Sixaola

Der Garten Eden lag einst genau hier, an der tropischen Karibikküste. Grün und fruchtbar ist dieser Garten, das Meer so leuchtend blau wie der Himmel, die Sonne strahlt besonders hell und freundlich auf den Paradiesgarten herab. Und die schönste Frucht des Gartens ist gelb und sanft gebogen wie ein Lächeln: Die Paradiesfeige, die verbotene Frucht der biblischen Paradieserzählung. 

Sie kennen diese Frucht nicht?

Aber natürlich, wahrscheinlich haben Sie sie schon als Baby zum ersten Mal gegessen. Es ist die schönste Beere der Welt, die Banane - Musa paradisiaca. Oder, wie sie bei uns heißt, die Sixaola-Banane.

Zehn bis zwanzig Finger sind eine Hand - Erste Aufzeichnungen über die Banane sind ca. 2600 Jahre alt und stammen aus Indien. Arabische Händler brachten sie nach Afrika, von ihnen hat die Banane ihren Namen: "Banan" ist das arabische Wort für Finger.

Sie ist die liebste Tropenfrucht der Deutschen, die Nummer Zwei der Obsthitliste nach dem Apfel.

Als wahres Energiebündel schlägt die Banane jeden Konkurrenten aus dem Feld, wesentlich gesünder als industriell hergestellter Traubenzucker wirkt ihr natürlicher Fruchtzucker. Ein hoher Gehalt an Mineralien wie Kalium, Magnesium und Phosphor und wertvolle Inhaltsstoffe wie die Vitamine A, B, C und E sind unentbehrlich für Herz, Neven, Muskeln und den Eiweißstoffwechsel.

Dabei wird häufig vergessen, dass Bananen in tropischen und subtropischen Regionen angepflanzt werden und teils beachtliche Reisen zurücklegen, damit auch Menschen in anderen Teilen der Welt in den Genuss der süßen Früchte kommen. So auch unserer Sixaola Bananen:

Nur rund 10 bis 12 Wochen benötigen unsere Bananen von der Blüte bis zur Ausreifung der Frucht an der Staude. Nach der Ernte werden die bis zu 30 kg schweren Büschel an Seilwinden in unsere Einpackstation gezogen und dort von Hand portioniert, gewaschen und in Bananenkartons verpackt.

Die natürliche Reifung unserer Bananen wird in Kühlcontainern künstlich ausgesetzt und sie überqueren bei konstanten 13,5°C auf Frachtschiffen den Atlantik. Im Zielhafen angekommen werden unsere Bananen noch grün zu Reifereien transportiert und von dort durch Großhändler an Supermärkte verteilt.

Unser Team von Platanera Río Sixaola widmet sich seit über 25 Jahren der nachhaltigen Landwirtschaft und dem Anbau von Bananen in den Tropen. Mit unserer neuen Homepage geben wir unseren Bananen nun ein Gesicht und möchten Interessierten aus der ganzen Welt die Arbeit auf unserer Farm in Costa Rica vorstellen.

Herzlich Willkommen auf unserer Finca!



"Leben, arbeiten und Wirtschaften mit der Natur und nicht mehr länger gegen die Natur ist unser großer Lernprozess."

Tenzin Gyatso, 14. Dalai Lama

Über Uns

Die Menschen hinter Platanera Rio Sixaola
Nachhaltigkeit

Integrativer und nachhaltiger Anbau von Bananen
Sixaola-Bananen

Banane ist nicht gleich Banane
News

In Bearbeitung
Besuch

Unsere Bananenfinca freut sich auf Ihren Besuch
Downloads

In Bearbeitung
Platanera Río Sixaola
Bribri, Talamanca adress
Costa Rica
+506 2751 0002 telephone
+506 2751 0278 fax